Sunny reflections

Wow, today is hot and sunny. I’ve been waiting for this kind of weather for months as I was hoping it would cure my winter blues, which it did rather quickly. Even though I’m forced to deal with a bunch of stuff right now (stuff that makes my so-called winter blues look like a single rainy day), I feel strong and confident. I feel like I can be of great help to my mother, who is probably facing the biggest challenge of her life so far; beating cancer. It’s my turn to be there for her, with her, next to her, every step of the way, as she has been for me all these years.

Sometimes I feel like all the sudden lifestyle changes I’ve made were obligatory for me to be able to grow stronger and healthier, so I could face the wave of unpleasant life turns and plots I didn’t even know was coming my way. In the past few months I’ve found more balance with every yoga session, felt more alive after every wholesome meal I ate, came to peace in every embrace with my one and only love… While to others these achievements may seem utterly random or simply uninteresting, to me they are of great importance. They were life-changing events that boosted my inner growth and made me aware of what I want for myself and for the ones I love.

All I want to do right now is use this new-found power to be there for my mother, the woman that made me who I am today; strong and determined, always allowing fear, pain and emotions but never letting them take over completely. So let’s face this thing, this monster. Let’s face it friendly, and then destroy every bit of it.